Practicum Opportunities

InstitutionContactDescription
Mississippi University for WomenVic Jones, archives@muw.edu, 662.241.7601In-person and virtual. We have a number of potential projects that could be available to practicum students, both virtual and in-person.
Mississippi CollegeHeather Moore, hsmoore@mc.edu, 601.925.3434In-person and virtual. University Archives & Baptist Archives from Mississippi.  Digital conversion, processing “old” collections, organizing collections and designing finding aids.  
Tippah County ArchivesFelecia Caples, tippaharchive@yahoo.com, 662.587.2389In-person. Indexing documents, opening old files, humidifying old documents, scanning, cleaning, researching genealogy and sometimes very weird things that people come up with.
William Carey UniversityChristy Calhoun, ccalhoun@wmcarey.edu, 601.318.6236In-person. Artifact cataloging, indexing, conservation and preservation, exhibit design, research requests
Mississippi Library CommissionTracy Carr, tcarr@mlc.lib.ms.us, 601.432.4450In-person. Digitizing materials, creating metadata for digitized materials, creating finding aids
Mississippi State UniversityJessica Perkins Smith, jsmith@library.msstate.edu, 662.325.3935In-person and virtual. Metadata projects for the creation of digital collections, processing projects (involving learning how to process a collection and write a finding aid in ArchivesSpace).
Hazlehurst ICRR museumPaul Cartwright, colbycart11@yahoo.com, 662.571.2922In-person. Organization of ICRR and other records. Perhaps adding lists to website
Gulfport Museum of HistoryBetty Shaw, gulfporthistory@gmail.com, 228.861.6600In-person. Historical documents and photos; help set up exhibits; do tours of the exhibits and collections
Gulf Coast Research Laboratory (USM)Joyce Shaw, joyce.shaw@usm.edu, 228.872.4213In-person. The Gunter Library maintains a collection of publications generated by faculty, associated researchers, and graduate students; practicum students organize, scan, and maintain the collection and add to existing bibliographic database. Gunter Library maintains a small archival collection that documents the history of the Gulf Coast Research Laboratory; practicum students organize, describe, scan, and otherwise grow and maintain the collection.
University of MississippiJennifer Ford, jwford@olemiss.edu, 662.915.1595In-person and virtual. Processing collections; digitizing materials; draft metadata creation; work with exhibitions; and other related projects.
University of Southern MississippiJennifer Brannock, Jennifer.Brannock@usm.edu, 601.266.4347In-person. Curating exhibits, creating LibGuides, performing item research and writing for the web, experience working the reference desk, social media
University of Southern MississippiEllen Ruffin, Ellen.Ruffin@usm.edu, 601.266.6543In-person. Process manuscript collections related to children’s literature, work with ArchiveSpace, assist with programming
University of Southern MississippiLorraine Stuart, Lorraine.Stuart@usm.edu, 601.266.4117In-person. Process manuscript collections
Dept of Archives & HistoryLaura Heller, lheller@mdah.ms.gov, 601.576.6889In person. Process manuscript collections, research and write finding aids. Learn archival best practices.